Former replacement referee Lance Easley, who made the controversial touchdown call in Monday night’s game between the Seattle Seahawks and Green Bay Packers, stands by his ruling, according to a TMZ report.
“It was the correct call,” he told the web site. “I didn’t do anything wrong.”
Easley feels the a case of simultaneous possession, meaning the catch should be awarded to Seahawks’ receiver Golden Tate.
“Put any other official who knows the rules and they would make the same call,” Easley told the site. “The Packers player [M.D. Jennings] who allegedly intercepted the ball never had singular possession because, “You have to not only have the ball, but have either two feet or a body part on the ground, and that never happened.”
On the play, which the league ruled couldn’t be overturned on video review based on a lack of conclusive evidence, it appears that Jennings has one foot on the ground while he and Tate wrestle for ball. By the time Jennings gets his second foot down, Tate has both feet down and has at least one hand on the ball.
Easley told TMZ that no one has seen a play like this before, and doesn’t “appreciate the negative stuff.”